Inge Morath Award

The Inge Morath Award

The Inge Morath Award was established by the members of Magnum Photos in tribute to their colleague, who was associated with Magnum for more than fifty years. Funded by the photographers, the Award is administered by the Inge Morath Foundation in cooperation with the Magnum Foundation, New York. The annual Inge Morath Award is given to a woman photographer under thirty years of age, to assist in the completion of a long term documentary project. The winner and finalists are selected by the photographer members of Magnum Photos and a representative of the Morath Foundation at the Magnum annual meeting. The call for submissions and guidelines are announced annually by The Magnum Foundation and The Inge Morath Foundation on their web sites, usually in January/February. Winners of the Award are announced in July/August. Past Recipients and their proposals: 2016 Daniella Zalcman (US), Winner, for Signs of Your Identity Gabriella Demczuk (US), Finalist, for Baltimore Sings the Blues Tamara Merino (Chile), Finalist, for Underland 2015 Danielle Villasana (US), Winner, for A Light Inside Sofia Valiente (US), Finalist for Miracle Village 2014 Shannon Jansen (US), Winner, for A long Walk Elodie Chrisment (FR), Finalist, for Pleasure Places - Paris 2013 No Award given. Lauren Pond (US), Finalist, for Faith and Its Price 2012 Isadora Kosofsky (US), Winner, for Selections from “The Three” and “This Existence.” Carlotta Zarattini (Italy), Finalist for The White Building: A Mirror of Cambodia. 2011 Zhe Chen (China), Winner, for Bees. 2010 Lurdes R. Basolí (Spain), Winner, for Caracas, The City of Lost Bullets. Claire Martin (Australia), Winner, for Selections from The Downtown East Side and Slab City. 2009 Emily Schiffer (US), Winner, for Cheyenne River. Jenn Ackerman (US), Finalist, for Trapped: Mental Illness in America's Prisons. 2008 Kathryn Cook (US), Winner for Memory Denied: Turkey and the Armenian Genocide. Leonie Purchas (UK), Finalist, for In the Shadow of Things. Alice Smeets (Belgium), 2008 Finalist, for Growing Up in Haiti. 2007 Olivia Arthur (UK), Winner, for The Middle Distance. Rena Effendi (Azerbaijan), Finalist, for Pipe Dreams: A Chronicle of Lives Along the Pipeline in Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey. Newsha Tavakolian (Iran), Finalist, for Iran: Girl Power! 2006 Jessica Dimmock (US), Winner, for The Ninth Floor. Dana Romanoff (US), Finalist, for Wife of the God. 2005 Mimi Chakarova (US), Winner, for Sex Trafficking in Eastern Europe. Jessica Dimmock (US), Finalist, for The Ninth Floor. Shannon Taggart (US), Finalist, for The Spiritualists. Yue Ren (China), Finalist, for Gay Scene in Beijing. 2004 Claudia Guadarrama (Mexico), Winner, for Before the Limit. 2003 No Award given. 2002 Ami Vitale (US), Winner for Kashmir.