Inge Morath Award

The Inge Morath Award

The Inge Morath Award was established by the members of Magnum Photos in tribute to their colleague, who was associated with Magnum for more than fifty years. Funded by the photographers, the Award is administered by the Inge Morath Estate in cooperation with Magnum Foundation, New York.

The annual Inge Morath Award is given to a woman photographer under thirty years of age, to assist in the completion of a long term documentary project. The winner and finalists are selected by the photographer members of Magnum Photos and a representative of the Morath Estate at the Magnum annual meeting.

The call for submissions and guidelines are announced annually by Magnum Foundation and Inge Morath Estate on their web sites, usually in January/February. Winners of the Award are announced in July/August.

Past Recipients and their proposals:

Alex Potter (US), Winner, for Once a Nation
Kimberly dela Cruz (Philippines), Finalist, for Death of a Nation
Tamara Merino (Chile), Finalist, for Underland
Ioanna Sakellaraki (Greece/UK), Finalist, for The Truth is in the Soil

Melissa Spitz (US), Winner, for You Have Nothing to Worry About
Peyton Fulford (US), Finalist, for Infinite Tenderness
Emily Kinni (US), Finalist, for The Bus Stop

Johanna-Maria Fritz (Germany), Winner, for Like a Bird
Isadora Romero (Ecuador), Finalist, for Amazona Warmikuna

Daniella Zalcman (US), Winner, for Signs of Your Identity
Gabriella Demczuk (US), Finalist, for Baltimore Sings the Blues
Tamara Merino (Chile), Finalist, for Underland

Danielle Villasana (US), Winner, for A Light Inside
Sofia Valiente (US), Finalist for Miracle Village

Shannon Jansen (US), Winner, for A long Walk
Elodie Chrisment (France), Finalist, for Pleasure Places – Paris

No Award given.
Lauren Pond (US), Finalist, for Faith and Its Price

Isadora Kosofsky (US), Winner, for Selections from “The Three” and “This Existence.”
Carlotta Zarattini (Italy), Finalist for The White Building: A Mirror of Cambodia.

Zhe Chen (China), Winner, for Bees.

Lurdes R. Basolí (Spain), Winner, for Caracas, The City of Lost Bullets.
Claire Martin (Australia), Winner, for Selections from The Downtown East Side and Slab City.

Emily Schiffer (US), Winner, for Cheyenne River.
Jenn Ackerman (US), Finalist, for Trapped: Mental Illness in America’s Prisons.

Kathryn Cook (US), Winner for Memory Denied: Turkey and the Armenian Genocide.
Leonie Purchas (UK), Finalist, for In the Shadow of Things.
Alice Smeets (Belgium), 2008 Finalist, for Growing Up in Haiti.

Olivia Arthur (UK), Winner, for The Middle Distance.
Rena Effendi (Azerbaijan), Finalist, for Pipe Dreams: A Chronicle of Lives Along the Pipeline in Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey.
Newsha Tavakolian (Iran), Finalist, for Iran: Girl Power!

Jessica Dimmock (US), Winner, for The Ninth Floor.
Dana Romanoff (US), Finalist, for Wife of the God.

Mimi Chakarova (US), Winner, for Sex Trafficking in Eastern Europe.
Jessica Dimmock (US), Finalist, for The Ninth Floor.
Shannon Taggart (US), Finalist, for The Spiritualists.
Yue Ren (China), Finalist, for Gay Scene in Beijing.

Claudia Guadarrama (Mexico), Winner, for Before the Limit.

No Award given.

Ami Vitale (US), Winner for Kashmir.